top of page
Untitled drawing.jpg

Hose and Harby Branch

                                 Formation of the Hose and Harby Branch

In late January 1927 a meeting was held at Hose to consider the formation of a branch of the British Legion.


Mr C W Calcraft a member of the Bottesford Branch and of the East Midlands area Legion Council outlined the aims of the Legion.


A proposition was made by Mr B Mantle and seconded by Mr G E Dewey that the Legion be approached to gain recognition for the Branch. The Rev R H Bagnall was to proceed with this request. As a result of this request the Hose Branch became a sub-Branch of The Vale of Belvoir Branch, which consisted of Clawson, Hickling and Kinoulton.


On July 23rd 1927 a meeting was held at Harby to consider the formation of a combined Branch of the British Legion, Mr S N Rowbottom of Hickling occupied the chair and was supported by Captain H Slater and Mr C W Calcraft both of East Midlands area Legion Council. The Rev Bagnall explained that a Branch existed at Hose and would welcome the combining of the two villages. A nearly unanimous vote agreed.


The Branch would be known as The Hose and Harby Branch as Hose had already officers in place, these being, President Mr S N Rowbottom, Chairman Rev R H Bagnall and Secretary Mr E Hourd. Additional members from Harby were invited to join the officers until the AGM they were Assistant Chairman Rev A E Furnival, Assistant Secretary Mr S A Towler plus Committee members S Pearse, S Starbuck and G Brown.


Note The ROYAL appellation was awarded to The British Legion on its Golden anniversary in 1971.

They shall grow not old,

as we that are left grow old: 

Age shall not weary them,

nor the years condemn.

At the going down of the sun and in the morning

We will remember them.

For the Fallen


bottom of page